Cape Columbine Lighthouse is situated on a prominent headland +/- 5km from the picturesque fishing village of Paternoster (“Our Father”), deriving its name from the heartfelt prayers of shipwrecked Portuguese sailors.  The lighthouse, which is built on rising ground at Castle Rock and is usually the first lighthouse sighted by shipping coming from South America and Europe, is about 30 km from Vredenburg on the West Coast. The lighthouse was named after the barque Columbine which was wrecked there on 31 Mary 1829. Several ships were wrecked in the area, which is known for its multitude of submerged rocks and reefs. It was one of the last manned lighthouses on the South African coast and offers interesting guided tours



The reserve,more often referred to by locals as Tietiesbaai, covers an area of 263ha along the rocky stretch of coastline with numerous inlets and coves. This area was declared a nature reserve in December 1973. The vegetation of typical West Coast veld ranges from the well-known West Coast fynbos to Succulent Karoo. Flowers start coming out in June already and start dwindling by September/October (rain dependent).  This reserve boasts the last manually controlled lighthouse to be built in South Africa. It is usually the first South African lighthouse to be seen by ships coming from Europe. The lighthouse was built in 1936 on Castle Rock. The light stands at a height of 80m above sea level and casts a beam, which is visible for about 50km.

The significant white boulders of Pink Granite, where great hump-shaped rocks crouch around little rocky bays, make this unspoiled gem one of the most beautiful beaches on the West Coast. The vast beach, washed by a fresh Atlantic Ocean can satisfy the enthusiastic kayaker in a safe paddling environment.




The Lisboa wrecked on Soldiers Reef 
Visit the Graveyard of the ships. The coast is littered with the wrecks of the ships that have sunk. Local diving will take you on a wreck dive and give you the history of each wreck on our coast. The Lisboa was a Portuguese twin screw steel steamship, built in 1910 in Glasgow and displacing 7459 tons. On 23 October 1910, while en route from Lobito, in Angola, to Cape Town and Maputo (Lourenço Marques), with 250 passengers and 50 crew aboard and carrying a cargo which included bulls and olive oil, the Lisboa ran aground on Soldiers Reef near Paternoster. The wreck of the Lisboa is particularly interesting because it was the first occasion on the South African coast on which radio telegraphy was used to summon help by a ship in distress.



Back to Top